We are surrounded by history, culture and nature. The coexistence between human beings and the natural environment of the mountain of Sant Julià goes back thousands of years ago, due to its strategic location. Iberian villages populated this mountain and also the Romans were here controlling the Via Augusta.
The space this mountain occupies, has been declared a space of cultural heritage, because of its archaeological and historical value.
The mountain was formed as an extension of the GAVARRRES massif (the mountain massif in the Baix Empordà and Gironès counties). From one side of the mountain we can see the gorge of the River Ter (the pathway in between the Gavarres massif).
The mountain of Sants Metges of Sant Julià de Ramis, is known for its archaeological richness containing sites which date from the Paleolithic era, the Sants Metges medieval church and its adjoining medieval cemetery, with a Roman and Visigoth Castellum.
"The fortress of Sant Julià de Ramis"
Welcome to La Fortalesa
We offer the DOR Museum (Jewellery Museum and Art Center), which also houses La Cúpula (a venue for events), the Museum shop and the DOR Restaurant (a restaurant- cafeteria), as well as the Sants Metges Hotel (5 *) and Atempo (gastronomic restaurant, the menu of which is designed by the chef Jordi Cruz).
THE FORTRESS OF SAN JULIÁN DE RAMIS:
Or the Castle of Sant Julià de Ramis.
It is a unique sample of its type in Catalonia, a fortification which tried to counteract the advances of artillery to defend the access into Girona from the north of the city.
The construction of the fortress was inspired by the defensive principles of Séré de Rivières (French military architect known for designing the construction system of buried polygonal fortifications).
It is a military fort built between 1893 and 1912, with a trapezoidal format, with three overlapping levels and a set of underground galleries, protected by a deep pit that surrounds the summit of the mountain.
The building was begun in 1893 and it was not finished until 1912, when the defensive model was obsolete. The building was prepared to defend itself at a military level only for invasions by land.
From 1916 onwards, it was occupied by a military detachment under the command of Girona.
After the Civil War in Spain (from 1936 to 1939) it was used as a munitions dump (containing ammunition and explosives).
The Republican side of the conflict, before abandoning the building to flee into France, tried to blow up the fortress by placing explosives around its perimeter. Local stories say that it was a neighbor from San Julià who avoided the building’s total destruction and only one explosion at the front entrance took place.
The fact is that with the explosion, the caponier disappeared along with the main access door to the fortress, which is the place that is occupied by the entrance of floor 1 of the museum.
In 1963 the fortress was finally closed and abandoned, declared "of no military interest" by the Ministry of Defense. It is said that the last soldiers who were there, cultivated mushrooms in it.
The restoration works are based on the principle of preserving the history of the existing building and the new architecture is a project which fuses creativity and materials such as stone, concrete and rusted iron. All in all, with the intention of producing the friendliest environmental impact possible blending the rehabilitated spaces with the landscape.
The main square guides us to the museum hall, reception area for visitors, where an audiovisual presentation can be enjoyed, as well as interactive screens with different contents. The museum can be discovered either with or without a guide.
Other rooms offer gemmology, exhibiting a selection of gems, each with characteristics that give them a unique charm. Diversity of jewellery pieces from different periods, designers, sculptors, jewellers, with a selection of the jeweller Octavi Sardà, the sculptor Amador Braojos and the designer Elsa Peretti complete this new museum space. The second floor has rooms for temporary exhibitions. The rooms currently present sculptures, drawings and medals by Josep Maria Subirachs, sculptor, painter, engraver, designer and Catalan art critic.
EQH - QUIM HEREU SPACE
In a modern building, located halfway from the castle pit, a concept of live art is presented, where the visitor can interact with the art and work of a painter from Girona, Quim Hereu.
In his paintings Quim Hereu merges poetry, feelings, beauty, human values, philosophy, fantasy and nature.
The DOR Museum has a documentation centre with a library specialized in the different disciplines of art, with a section devoted to bibliophile works. In the entrance hall, there is also the museum shop with small objects, jewellery, prints, publications, lithographs, and other objects and small details to purchase as gifts.
Five workshops have been built within the complex for artists who wish to work on a piece of art during a short stay. The DOR Museum wants to promote the talent of emerging artists in a program of cultural sponsorship.